I’ve heard plenty about this from my friends. They know Jan and I make money online. When the subject comes up, there’ usually some sage nodding and admittance that the money is in the Internet now. And then come the questions, “Do you do blogging?” “How do you make money blogging?”
If I had five pounds for every time they asked me that, I’d have a hundred pounds by now. Hey, I’m realistic about numbers! A hundred pounds doesn’t a rich man make either.
Look at this page right now. You see ads on the right, don’t you? That’s it. For my other websites, that’s how I make money as well. Through ads.
But just placing ads doesn’t make money. That’s like placing flour, eggs, sugar and cocoa powder on the table and expecting cookies. You have to put in work!
To generate an income from blogging, your blog has to have an audience. And to attract an audience, you need to have good content.
That’s where the work comes in, creating and curating that content that people need and search for. Considerable research and effort goes into this process.
- What do you know? Find your blogging niche. Your focus. The more focused your blog is, the better. For example, look at Seniorpreneur. My focus is senior entrepreneurs and startup businesses. This gives me an audience AND inspiration on what to deliver.
- What do people need to know? What search terms do they most use? Find those keywords and those relevant, urgent and hot topics, and use them in your blog!
- Give people what they need. You can’t just use their keywords (their interest) and bait them into going to your blog only to find nothing of substance there. This won’t earn you money. You need good, valuable content, in the exact form your audience will love. I write because a great chunk of my entrepreneur audience are readers. But other niches should present their content in images or videos, comics or slideshows.
- Make sure they find you for what they need! Beginner’s blogs won’t make money from ads, because they don’t have that many visitors yet. So work toward getting visitors! Use keywords in your blog posts. Employ SEO in your images/videos as much as in your headlines and text. Promote your blog on social media and everywhere your audience would find you. Use social media buttons and have little freebies and prizes to make it easy and rewarding for those readers you do attract to share your blog posts.
Once you’ve won (and continue winning them!) your audience, you can now earn money–passive income– through your blog.
There are plenty of ways you can generate income through your blog. You can use it as a platform for your own books and products. If you’re a service provider, a blog lures potential clients and customers through your content. If your blog itself provides the service, you can simply ask for donations! Why not? If your blog helps people, you’d be surprised how willing they are to pay for that help!
And of course, if you have enough visitors, you can earn money through ads.
How to Make Money Blogging: AdSense, Amazon, Affiliate Marketing, PPC, CPM, Donations
AdSense and Amazon
I love Google for their naming prowess. AdSense is aptly named because all you have to do is put the code for AdSense on your site and Google will place ads there dynamically, depending on your content’s keywords. The ads will make sense– they’ll be relevant to what you’re talking about in your blog post.
You get paid for every click (Pay Per Click or PPC).
For Amazon ads, it’s the same. Amazon will place relevant ads from its huge product catalogue. If none is relevant, you can have a backup ad, and it can be your AdSense ad.
These are called ‘contextual’ ads.
Both AdSense and Amazon also do ‘retargeting’ ads. If your current reader had previously searched for cat jumpers, they’d find ads of cat jumpers on your site, regardless of whether or not your blog is about cats or jumpers.
You might have seen examples of the latter on Facebook. But if you have a niche blog, better stick to contextual ads so you don’t turn off readers.
And that’s it. You place the ads and hope people click. If they don’t, you earn nothing.
This is where CPM comes in.
CPM (Cost Per Thousand Impressions)
If your visitors don’t end up clicking, sign up for CPM ads instead. M is the Roman numeral for one thousand. CPM ads pays for every 1000 people who view their ads through your blog.
|Look at the following calculations from Tips and Tricks HQ:
Your site’s total daily page impressions = 2000Google Adsense Page CTR (Click Through Rate) = 0.11%Total clicks = 2Earnings = $0.50
So, on an average running this ad unit will result in a total of ($0.50 * 30) = $15 per month (roughly)
You get paid for your traffic! The more impressions you get every day, the more you earn. Not every niche has a ‘click-happy’ audience. Sometimes we ourselves are content reading a blog and making note of the brand names and services offered that we see. We may not click now, but the brand and service remain in mind, don’t they? There’s money in that for your blog!
But what if they do click, is that it? No. If they click and they sign up, purchase or ask for more information, etc., you can get commissions through Affiliate Marketing.
Even if you were a complete beginner to this, you probably already had a big clue from the name. You become an affiliate when you choose to promote a seller or a product in your blog.
They provide you with ready-made text and banners you can simply place in your blog to start referring people to your affiliate, along with a unique affiliate code. This code will be used to keep track of just how many people you refer to their target site/product/service.
You get paid according to the specific affiliate program you chose:
- Pay per Sale: The merchant pays you a commission, usually a percentage of the sale price, when the purchase is completed.
- Pay per Click: Whether or not a sale is made, you get paid based on the number of visitors you redirect to the merchant’s target page from your site.
- Pay per Lead: You get paid for every referred visitor who sign up or provide their contact information on the target site
Many blogs like Affiliate Marketing because they also see it as a valuable service to their readers, to lead them to services or products helpful to their needs. You don’t have to stock up on anything or sell something yourself– you simply refer.
BUT you do sell when you sign up to become an affiliate. It’s not AdSense that you simply plonk on your blog and hope people will click.
- When chosen well, you can mention and include affiliate links in every blog post.
- Choose well– you need a merchant with credibility that would only build up yours. That product should keep its promises, because YOUR reputation would also be in the line if someone took your advice to choose that affiliate and it turned out badly.
- Research the demand AND the technology of that product or service. Are there enough people looking for or in need of it? And is it up to date with the new techniques in your niche? If not, you’d only look outdated and uninformed.
Most people no longer need to be told that maintaining a blog costs money, but just in case they don’t know, include a little reminder at the end of each post. It can be a fun template you can customize for every post. If they like what you give them, if your content ends up helping them, they WILL give you money.
Set it up with a simple PayPal button.
Making money on blogging comes down to strategy. You strategize for great content and great visibility, and your passive income will come, although it won’t be so passive at all. The fact is, bloggers who earn money from blogging work hard on their blogs! Once you have the trick of it, and gain knowledge of the tools you can leverage, it becomes easy and routine.